historical overviewwinners onlyjerseys winnerssummary statisticswinners of stageswinners of stages on a map
1968 | Number of finish towns: 26
 back to details of 1968

stage 1a:Vittel -Vittel6.1 km  FRA  Charly GROSSKOST0:08:27 | 43.3 km/h
stage 1b:Vittel -Esch189.0 km  FRA  Charly GROSSKOST4:34:51 | 41.3 km/h
stage 2:Arlon -Forest210.5 km  BEL  Eric DE VLAEMINCK5:31:41 | 38.1 km/h
stage 3a:Forest -Forest22.0 km  BEL  Belgium A0:29:05 | 45.4 km/h
stage 3b:Forest -Roubaix112.0 km  BEL  Walter GODEFROOT2:37:52 | 42.6 km/h
stage 4:Roubaix -Rouen238.0 km  FRA  Georges CHAPPE6:23:30 | 37.2 km/h
stage 5a:Rouen -Bagnoles-de-l´Orne165.0 km  FRA  André DESVAGES4:50:07 | 34.1 km/h
stage 5b:Bagnoles-de-l´Orne -Dinard154.5 km  FRA  Jean DUMONT4:32:21 | 34.0 km/h
stage 6:Dinard -Lorient188.0 km  ESP  Aurelio GONZALEZ4:40:34 | 40.2 km/h
stage 7:Lorient -Nantes190.0 km  ITA  Franco BITOSSI4:58:20 | 38.2 km/h
stage 8:Nantes -Royan223.0 km  BEL  Daniel van RYCKEGHEM5:25:26 | 41.1 km/h
stage 9:Royan -Bordeaux137.5 km  BEL  Walter GODEFROOT3:19:16 | 41.4 km/h
stage 10:Bordeaux -Bayonne202.5 km  FRA  Gilbert BELLONE5:23:39 | 37.5 km/h
stage 11:Bayonne -Pau183.5 km  BEL  Daniel van RYCKEGHEM5:28:47 | 33.5 km/h
stage 12:Pau -Saint-Gaudens226.5 km  BEL  Georges PINTENS7:33:34 | 30.0 km/h
stage 13:Saint-Gaudens -Seo de Urgel208.5 km  BEL  Herman VAN SPRINGEL6:59:55 | 29.8 km/h
stage 14:Seo de Urgel -Canet-Plage231.5 km  NED  Jan JANSSEN7:28:43 | 31.0 km/h
stage 15:Font Romeu -Albi250.5 km  FRA  Roger PINGEON6:20:36 | 39.5 km/h
stage 16:Albi -Aurillac199.0 km  ITA  Franco BITOSSI5:39:09 | 35.2 km/h
stage 17:Aurillac -Saint-Étienne236.5 km  FRA  Jean-Pierre GENET7:02:33 | 33.6 km/h
stage 18:Saint-Étienne -Grenoble235.0 km  FRA  Roger PINGEON7:47:13 | 30.2 km/h
stage 19:Grenoble -Sallanches-Cordon200.0 km  GBR  Barry HOBAN7:06:23 | 28.1 km/h
stage 20:Sallanches-Cordon -Besançon242.5 km  BEL  Joseph HUYSMANS6:56:02 | 35.0 km/h
stage 21:Besançon -Auxerre242.0 km  BEL  Eric LEMAN6:50:42 | 35.4 km/h
stage 22a:Auxerre -Melun136.0 km  FRA  Maurice IZIER3:43:56 | 36.4 km/h
stage 22b:Melun -Paris55.2 km  NED  Jan JANSSEN1:20:09 | 41.3 km/h

Winners of stages in 1968 by nations:

 nation  No.wins share (%)
 BEL  10 
 FRA  10 
 ITA  2 
 NED  2 
 ESP  1 
 GBR  1 

Winners of stages in 1968 by cyclists:

 name  No.wins share (%)
 Walter GODEFROOT  2 
 Franco BITOSSI  2 
 Jan JANSSEN  2 
 Daniel van RYCKEGHEM  2 
 Roger PINGEON  2 
 Charly GROSSKOST  2 
 Jean-Pierre GENET  1 
 Eric LEMAN  1 
 Jean DUMONT  1 
 Georges PINTENS  1 
 Barry HOBAN  1 
 Georges CHAPPE  1 
 Maurice IZIER  1 
 Belgium A  1 
 Aurelio GONZALEZ  1 
 Herman VAN SPRINGEL  1 
 Joseph HUYSMANS  1 
 André DESVAGES  1 
 Gilbert BELLONE  1 

Here we would like to express our respect and thanks to all participants and organizers of this prestige event, as well as to highlight the possibilities of geography and bring a new look at this phenomenon


 Main page
 Historical overview
 Winners only
 Jerseys winners
 Summary statistics
 Winners of stages
 Winners of stages on a map
 Our book about TdF


 General statistics
 Ascents statistics
 Stages statistics
 Custom winners statistics
 Chord diagrams - visualization

 Search places of the Tour
 Search winner of the stage
 Search ascents of the Tour
 Search winner of ascent


 Display list of all places
 Find nearest stage place
 Map of TdF places
 Thematic map of start places
 Thematic map of finish places
 Map of general classification of places


 Display list of all ascents
 Display map of all ascents
 Thematic map of all ascents
 Find nearest ascent
 The Alps ascents
 The Pyrenees ascents
 The Jura ascents
 The Massiv Ccentral ascents
 The Cevennes ascents
 The Vosges ascents
 The Black Forest ascents